CAF African Footballer Of The Year Award: Mikel, Kelechi Iheanacho, Other Nigerian Players Missing From the List

No single Nigerian player made it to this year's CAF African Player of the Year Award final nominees list.

The country's top shot players John Mikel Obi and Kelechi Iheanacho are missing in the five-man shortlist released by CAF on Tuesday.

CAF had previously released a 30-man list that had Mikel, Iheanacho, and Ahmed Musa in the running. Unfortunately, they didn't make it to the finale list.

Below is the five-man shortlist for the African Player of the Year 2016:

1. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borrusia Dortmund)

2. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)

3. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

4. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)

5. Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)

For the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa), the top five are;

1. Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns & Zimbabwe)

2. Keegan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)

3. Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe & Zambia)

4. Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)

5. Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns & Uganda)

As stated by CAF, for the final phase, votes from the Head Coaches/Technical Directors of the 54 National Associations affiliated to CAF - plus Associate Members, Reunion Island and Zanzibar - together with the other half of the 20-member Panel of Experts (10 persons), will be counted towards the determination of the eventual winners.